Daylight Savings Time and the Beginning of Packing

Oh, Daylight Savings Time.  I firmly believe it’s the government’s way to just fuck up everyone’s life.  Fortunately, it doesn’t seem to really have messed Jonathan’s schedule up.  He’s also been waking up around 9 or 10 in the morning, so I need to try to reset him to wake up at 8 every day, otherwise he’s up way too late at night.  Yesterday was just weird.  I felt off kilter all day, and Jonathan only took 2 naps instead of 3.  I was just staring at him in amazement, wondering how he was still awake.  He did sleep really well last night, though, so I’m counting my blessings.  I read literature right after Jonathan was born about the Wonder Weeks, and he seems to have hit every single one so far.  I think I’m experiencing one of his “sunny” periods, but sleep training is still going to start next week once I have time to read Solve Your Child’s Sleep Problems: New, Revised, and Expanded Edition by Richard Ferber.  I know there are many people who are vehemently against any sort of sleep training that involves crying it out, but Jonathan needs to learn how to fall asleep without sitting in my lap sucking on a pacifier, while holding both of my hands.  It’s sweet, but he’s a big boy, and it’s time to put my foot down.  Updates will follow when I start.

In other news, I have started the packing process.  We’re not taking everything with us to Hawaii because we just won’t have the room that we have here, so I’m starting to pack up the things that are going to hang out in my parents’ garage until we get back.  We have a lot of fucking books.  We try to thin the herd every now and then, but we then turn around and buy more books because we apparently didn’t learn our lesson the last time, so our book situation is out of control.  I am getting better about buying more books on my Kindle Paperwhite, 6″ High Resolution Display with Built-in Light, Wi-Fi – Includes Special Offers (I have an older generation, but I really want this one), but we still can’t help it sometimes.  There is definitely something great about holding a physical book in your hand, but I find the Kindle does the job for novels.  I absolutely have to own physical copies of all my history books, or I’d go crazy trying to find references.

Anyway, I HATE packing.  I hate moving.  But we should only have to do this two more times before we can stay in one place.  It’s one of the most stressful parts of military life, in my humble opinion, and it’s SO much harder to get things moving when you have to take care of an infant at the same time.  If Paul were home, it would be infinitely easier, but since he isn’t, I have my parents coming over every weekend, so I can pack things slowly.

This was a pretty boring post, but I’ll have a better one up soon!

Leave a Reply

