Exhaustion and Being 6 Months Old

I hear people talk about exhaustion all the time.  “Oh, I pulled an all nighter, I’m exhausted.”  Or, “I’ve been on duty for 24 hours, I’m exhausted.”  I say this: you don’t know true exhaustion until you have a kid.

Last night, Jonathan thought it would be a good idea to get up at 1 in the morning, and stay up until 4:30 in the morning.  Of course, I didn’t want him sleeping too long because I don’t want him to mix up his nights and days, so I woke him up around 9:15 this morning.  It’s still about 45 minutes after when he normally gets up, but I needed the sleep.  He did take mercy on me later in the day, though, and took a 2 hour long nap, so I was able to get 2 hours of sleep, too.  I’m still exhausted, and I’m going to sleep soon, but I wanted to share something.

My baby boy turned 6 months old last Monday, and I got his 6-month pictures done yesterday at Picture People.  Love what they do, hate how fucking insane their prices are for their products.  They do send out coupons on a regular basis, though, so I did manage to get a pretty decent price on a big package.  (Hehe…I said big package.  I kill me.)  Anyway, a high resolution CD was part of that, so at least I can share decent pictures!  So here are a couple of pictures:

img_1001 img_1017

I know I’m a little biased, but isn’t he adorable?  You would never guess that he’s a terrorist.

Here are a few things that he’s learned over the past few weeks:

  • Sitting up on his own.  This is actually one of the big reasons we’re having sleeping issues right now.  Every time he learns a new gross motor skill, he likes to practice it in his crib, so now I have to pray that there’s a break between him learning how to sit and learning how to pull himself up so I can hopefully get the sleep training in and done.
  • Crawling all over the place.  It’s the Army low crawl (such an Army brat *tear*), but he definitely gets where he wants to go.  I am also learning that quiet baby=baby getting into shit.  Every time he is on the floor and quiet, he has found my laptop cord.
  • Babbling and blowing raspberries.  Seriously, babies are so gross sometimes.  Blowing raspberries is his favorite thing to do, and he slobbers all over my damn carpet.  But it’s cute as hell, so I’ll allow it.

I’m sure there are more, but those are the big developmental things that are currently turning my life into a living hell, and making me one proud mom.

And, to conclude, here’s Jonathan in his new favorite hangout under our coffee table:

Mooooom, get out of my fort!  No girls allowed!

Mooooom, get out of my fort! No girls allowed!

Leave a Reply

