Sleep Training, Day 2

Good news, Jonathan slept all the way through the night last night!  He did sleep through the night before we started sleep training, but it was starting to switch from sleeping through the night 70% of the time to waking up multiple times in the night 80% of the time.  So it felt so good to get a night of uninterrupted sleep.  And then I slept wrong.  I now have a crick in my neck.  Well played, sleep training.

I continued with crying it out for his naps today, and each took him less than half an hour to fall asleep, so I thought that was great.  He also didn’t cry very much for the naps, so that was nice.

I just put him down for the night, and it only took about 40 minutes for him to fall asleep this time, and the crying was more intermittent, but also more intense.  When I came in the room to reassure him, the crying intensified when I left the room again, but I know this is going to benefit both of us, so I’m sticking with it.

I do have to say that both of us were much happier today.  Maybe that’s because I got a good night’s sleep.  Maybe it’s because Jonathan got a good night’s sleep.  Maybe it’s because I loved on him extra hard today because I feel bad about letting him cry.  Either way, I was a much more patient Mommy, and he was a much happier baby.

Next update tomorrow.  Until then, I leave you with the Jonathan Hulk:

Look at how strong I am, Mom!  I flipped this feather light playmat over all on my own!

Look at how strong I am, Mom! I flipped this feather light playmat over all on my own!

2 thoughts on “Sleep Training, Day 2

  1. Oh good on you! 🙂 I really need to start toughening up a little and doing this, but as yet I haven’t been able to bear the sound of my daughter crying! She’s almost 21 weeks though so I guess I should start 🙂

  2. It really is too soon to tell if it’s really working, but I’ve heard MANY success stories using this method! (I promise, I’m not getting paid to promote it!) I think it’s easier to listen to them crying when it’s going towards a productive purpose.

Leave a Reply

