Sleep Training, Day 7

We have somehow arrived at Day 7 already, and I still don’t feel we’re completely done, but we’re close!  We’ve got the naps down, but Jonathan really hates it when I put him in his crib at night.  Tonight he cried for about 19 minutes before falling asleep, but I think he’ll stay asleep tonight because he spent about 20 minutes after eating his turkey and sweet potato dinner farting like an old man, including a fucking impressive blowout diaper that went all the way up his back.  So.  That was fun.

Jonathan only woke up once last night, so that was good, but I didn’t get to bed early enough, and he slept until 8:45 this morning.  I’m starting to think I need to make sure I wake up at 7:30 so I can get him out of bed at 8.  His naps are nice and long, but his 2nd nap ends up being pretty late in the day, so he doesn’t end up going to bed until around 9:30ish.  I guess I could say that I’m getting ahead of the game on getting him adjusted to Hawaii time, but that’s taking credit for something I’m not really doing!

New things have also happened in the past couple of days.  Jonathan has tried two new foods: the Gerber turkey and sweet potato dinner and the Gerber peach yogurt, and he really likes both of them.  He’s also eating the entire container in one sitting.  I was a little worried that he wouldn’t take his full bottles, but there doesn’t seem to be a problem there, unless I wait too long to put him down at night because he’ll fall asleep on the bottle, so I’m constantly jostling him to make sure he stays awake.  Also, when Jonathan’s playing on the floor, sometimes I’ll lay down there with him.  He’ll get a little whiny, but as soon as I get on the floor with him, he’s fine.  It’s like he just wants me close while he’s playing.  Yesterday, he crawled up to me, and pulled himself up to standing a few times, and did it again today!  I see him eyeing the coffee table, too, but I think that’s partly because I put my laptop cord on the coffee table while he’s on the floor because he thinks it’s a wonderful thing to chew on, and he’s trying to figure out a way to get to it.  That kid is too smart for his own good.

Anyhow, nothing else new going on here.  Update to come tomorrow on whether or not Jonathan takes less time to go to sleep at night!

Leave a Reply

