Sleep Training: Mission Complete, and Beautiful Days

It only took Jonathan 3 minutes to fall asleep!  The first time.  He woke up about an hour after he fell asleep, but it was gas.  Once he passed it, he was out within 5 minutes.  So I’m going to call sleep training a success in this house!  Mommy and Jonathan are better rested, and generally in better moods all the time now, so that’s a relief!  I will say that I am not looking forward to doing this again when we move.  The thing I hate about overseas moves is that you usually end up in a hotel for 30-60 days while you wait for housing.  In a place like Hawaii, it’s near impossible for us to rent off post because the cost of living there is so high, and we have way too much stuff to even consider an apartment.  Anyway, he’s going to be sleeping with us in the room for a while, but at least I know we can sleep train again.  I don’t relish the thought of sleep training again, but it’s going to have to happen.  One good thing: at least I won’t have a house to take care of, so I should be able to sleep whenever Jonathan does!  Score!

In other news, today was a gorgeous day.  Keep in mind, we live in Washington, so this time of year is usually still pretty cold and rainy.  Today it was nice and sunny and in the 60s, which, in case you were wondering, is shorts weather!  I wanted to get out of the house, so I took Jonathan with me to the Commissary.  I usually go to the Air Force Commissary on McChord because the aisles are wider, and it’s less crowded, but there was construction on every damn street between here and the Commissary, so I turned my happy ass around, and just went to the Commissary on Lewis.  I walk in, and grab a cart.  The first three carts I grabbed had broken buckles.  THREE.  Really?!  I finally get Jonathan into the cart, and one of the Korean bagger ladies comes up and starts fawning over him.  I never know what to do when this happens in public.  It’s only happened three times, but I don’t know why people think it’s okay to just come up and put their hands all over your baby.  Honestly, I never would have stopped the old ajimah from touching Jonathan.  In Korean culture babies are raised by community, and it would have been extremely rude of me to tell her not to touch him.  Either way, I still feel that swell of pride when someone tells me how cute he is.  I guess it’s good that Paul’s not around, he’d be punching people left and right for even considering touching that child.

Well, I am exhausted.  That stupid Aunt Flo bitch arrived, and I don’t suffer from most PMS symptoms, but I do suffer from fatigue.  I’m sure iron supplements would probably help that, but ain’t nobody got time fo’ that!  So I am going to go to bed.  I’m sure I’ll have tons of great stories tomorrow since my parents are coming over!

Leave a Reply

