In Which I’m the Worst Mom on the Planet

Who’s giving out Mother of the Year awards?

So Jonathan was a really bad napper today.  His first nap was only 20 minutes, and his second was only 30 minutes.  The first was cut short, I think, by our neighbor across the street mowing their lawn.  One of the windows in his room faces the front of the house, and I don’t think those room-darkening curtains I bought is muffling the outside noise well enough.  I don’t know what happened with his second nap, but it was nice out, so maybe it was the kids SCREAMING out in front of our house?  Maybe?  He ended up taking a third nap that was about an hour and a half long, so he at least got one good one in there, but he didn’t want to eat his turkey and sweet potatoes because his feeding schedule got all messed up.

Anyways, the reason I mention that is because when I put him down for his second nap, I thought it might be a good idea to take a shower because I smelled like a men’s locker room.  Jonathan woke up in the middle of it crying his eyes out, so I finished up, dried off, and went to get him.  I set him on the floor while I finished putting on deodorant and cleaning my ears.  Then, and I don’t know what possessed me to do this because I haven’t done it since he started crawling, I set him on my bed while I ran to my closet to grab a shirt.  I shit you not, I was in there for maybe 5 seconds, and I hear a loud THUD and then screaming.  So I screamed, “Oh, SHIT!”, ran out, and scooped him up off the floor.  Of course, he’s crying like it’s the end of the world, I’m crying like it’s the end of the world, and I kept repeating, “I’m sorry, I’m so sorry,” to him while holding him tight and raining kisses on his poor little head.  I can’t really tell where he landed, but it had to have been head first.  His right cheek has been really red, so I think that’s where he hit his head.  I feel like the shittiest mom in the world, but I know I’m not the first mom that this has happened to, and I won’t be the last.  He seems fine, though, so I don’t suspect a concussion or anything like that.  He was his normal, active self after he stopped crying.

The best part about this?  I told my parents what happened, and now I get to listen to my dad make fun of me about it for the rest of his life.  *sigh*

He’s in bed now, and I’m exhausted, so I think I’m going to watch an episode of Spartacus and go to sleep.  Nothing like a gruesome, gory war right before bed.

3 thoughts on “In Which I’m the Worst Mom on the Planet

  1. I once had a baby (my “first”) who Houdini-ed himself out of his highchair straps and dove onto our kitchen floor (read no carpet). I rushed him to the er, where I was informed you ‘have to bounce them off a sidewalk to really hurt them’. No, you aren’t the first, but know that he will be okay. You may not be, but he will. 😉

Leave a Reply

