What a Week!

I’ve been meaning to put up a post for a few days now, but we’ve been so busy that I haven’t had a chance to!

So, to begin, Paul arrived home safely on Saturday.  Jonathan was curious the first night, and we thought all that time Skyping might have done some good.  Here’s a picture soon after Jonathan woke up and got to really hang out with Paul.

"Dad, is it really you?"

“Dad, is it really you?”

Until the next morning.  All I wanted for Mother’s Day was to sleep in, but Jonathan wasn’t having it.  Paul got up with him, tried to feed him his bottle, and he freaked out, so Paul had to wake me up.  As soon as Jonathan saw me, he was all smiles, so he just wanted Mommy.  We were trying to figure out if we wanted to sell Paul’s Santa Fe before we left for Hawaii, and just ship my Tucson, but then he had the brilliant idea to trade both cars in for a new one since the amount he was right side up on his nearly canceled out the amount I was upside down on mine.  So on Sunday, we trekked down to the Toyota dealership after researching both the 2013 RAV4 and Tucson to see which would be the best fit, and the RAV4 had way more desirable standard features (notably the backup camera and all wheel drive) than the Tucson did, so I wanted to go test drive the RAV4.  They happened to have the color I wanted in the model I wanted, and after getting us an amazing interest rate on our financing, we decided to buy that day.  So here’s my new ride!

IMG_1058

 

I fucking love this car.  The only thing that is difficult to get used to is driving an automatic after driving a manual for the past 10 years.  I am so glad we got this because after putting Jonathan’s Britax car seat in it, we realized that there was no way it would have fit into my Tucson.

Monday was my birthday.  I’m 33 now, and I’m still convinced that having kids should happen in one’s 20s because one of my joints always seem to pop when I’m sneaking in Jonathan’s room to cover him with a blanket before I go to bed.  I got to sleep in a little longer before Jonathan freaked out, but he still wasn’t a fan of being alone with Daddy when he knew Mommy was somewhere in the house.  Overall, it was a good day aside from a little meltdown at the end of the day because I’m really starting to stress over this move, but Paul and I developed a battle plan, so we should be good to go now.

Tuesday was a shopping filled day.  We needed to do a little grocery shopping since I’m reveling in the fact that I can now cook because Paul can watch Jonathan while I do so.  Jonathan still wasn’t a huge fan of Dad, but starting to get better with being with him if I walked out of the room for a second.

Wednesday was by far the best day Jonathan had with Paul since he got home.  Paul got up with him, and Jonathan drank his whole bottle for him and played a while before Paul thought it was a good idea to let Jonathan walk across the piano keys since he can hit more keys that way, and that woke me up.  He was in an excellent mood all day long, though, and that was nice because every day before that was filled with a lot of whining!

Today, Jonathan seems to favor both of us equally finally.  We drove to post so Paul could visit with the guys he used to work with, and we stopped by the PX, and then my mother-in-law came over for a little bit.  Jonathan didn’t really get a second nap because he fell asleep in the car for maybe 20 minutes, so we had to put him down for a 3rd nap, and he was not happy when he woke up.  But I did manage to cook dinner tonight, and I’m SOOOO happy that I can do that now!  I made rosemary walnut chicken and rice pilaf, and we have a metric shit-ton (yes, that is a real measurement…in this house) of frozen veggies in our freezer, so I just microwaved some of those, and it was SO GOOD.  I forgot how much I love cooking.

In Jonathan news, he finally started babbling strings of consonants together.  I was really starting to worry because he should have started this a month ago, but damn.  When Jonathan decides to start a new skill, he does it right.  In the past two days, he started babbling “dadadada,” and actually LOOKING at Daddy when he does it, “mamamama,” used mostly when he’s upset and wants me, “babababa,” and “nanananana.”  He’s also more confident with his cruising, and is moving from one piece of furniture to another seamlessly, and I really feel like he’ll be ready to stand on his own really soon.  If history is any indicator, he’ll probably go from standing without support to walking in the span of a week.  Because he’s a badass like that.

Anyway, that’s about it for now.  It’s getting close to midnight, and this mama is tired from slaving over the stove like a good housewife (haha!), so I need to relax and get some sleep!

Leave a Reply

