In Which We Try to Find a Good Overnight Diaper

As anyone with kids knows, there comes a point where it becomes difficult to find a diaper that will hold all their overnight pee.  Jonathan sleeps for about 11 hours each night, and there is NO WAY IN HELL I’m waking him up in the middle of the night to change his diaper.  Dammit, I worked hard and endured a lot of heartache sleep training that kid, I’m not about to fuck it all up by waking him up at the same time every night to change his diaper.

Ahem.

So probably about a month or so ago, we bought a box of size 4 Pampers Swaddlers.  After Jonathan grew out of the size 3, we switched to Cruisers, but we were at Target, they had the Swaddlers in size 4, we loved the Swaddlers, so I bought some.  Stupid, stupid me.  Just a little FYI: the size 4 and 5 Swaddlers are identical to the Cruisers except they have the wetness indicator on the front.  Well played, Pampers, you tricked a ton of people into buying the same diaper for more money because a line turns blue on it.  For shame.

Anyway, we got home, and the first night Jonathan wore those overnight, he peed out of the diaper.  It happened probably 3 or 4 more times with the Swaddlers, but out of a package of 124 diapers, that’s not too terrible.  It was more often than he was peeing out of the Cruisers, though, so we went back to Cruisers.

Well.  In the past couple of weeks, this peeing thing has gotten out of control.  He’s been waking up with his entire front soaked with pee, soaked sheets, and an exasperated mommy who is tired of changing sheets.  And, one night, an exasperated daddy who was woken up out of a dead sleep at 2 a.m. by a child screaming like there was a shark in his crib gnawing on his leg.  (There have been a lot of shark attacks in Hawaii this summer, it’s on my mind.)

The last time I went to Target, I thought I’d try some of the diapers that are advertised as overnight diapers.  So I bought a box of Pampers Extra Protection.  They didn’t have a small package or I would have bought a small package.  We tried Pampers Baby Dry a long time ago, and those didn’t work for shit on Jonathan, so we already knew not to use those, but these are like super padded Baby Dry diapers, so I thought we’d give it a shot.  Cue the 2 a.m. scream fest.  Colossal failure.  Back to the drawing board.

I know a ton of people who swear by the Huggies Overnites, so that was next on the list.  We already had grocery shopping to do at the Commissary, so I just picked up a small package while I was there.  This time he peed all the way up his side because he slept on his side most of the night.

After a mournful plea on the Schofield Barracks Army Wives page to get these extra diapers off our hands, our neighbor across the street suggested we try the Target brand, so we’re in the middle of testing those right now.  Jonathan woke up dry this morning, he has one on right now, and we have one more for tomorrow, so we’ll see how this works out.  Of course, this came AFTER I already ordered the Pampers Cruisers ULTRA diapers on Amazon (which, by the way, got great reviews from current Cruisers users, so I’m hoping I can trust these strangers’ assessments), but c’est la vie.  If these work, at least I now know that I don’t have to spend as much money on diapers next time!  So while on this adventure, I’ve cleaned the sheets probably 3 times more than I normally would have, but we are optimistic about arriving at a solution.

We also started putting Jonathan in pajamas last night.  I don’t know if this has any effect on whether or not he wakes up marinating in his own pee in the morning, but he looks super cute.  Before you ask, I used to just put him in onesies for bed, but his bedroom gets a little chilly at night, so it was time for pajamas with long pants.  I also have a serious hate on for button up footie pajamas, and it’s really difficult to find the zip up ones in a quality I like most of the time.  He must like these new pajamas because he was out cold this morning when I went in to wake him up at 8.  Normally, just walking into the room wakes him up, but even shaking him wasn’t working.  I had to pick him up to wake him, and he was not a happy camper!

He looks so cute when he's trying to run away from Mommy!

He looks so cute when he’s running away from Mommy!

We also learned today that he needs a little brother or sister, STAT.  I babysat for one our other neighbors today, and homeboy is BAD at sharing.  Every time she grabbed something, he wanted it.  I felt bad because I was scolding him all morning while holding someone else’s kid, but Jonathan is a typical boy and plays rough, so I didn’t want him to hurt her!  Some more socialization is in order very soon because this behavior is not going to fly!  And on that note, I’m going to creepily stare at my child sleeping for a couple of minutes, and get my own ass in bed!

Leave a Reply

