An Abridged Update

Sorry, I know I’ve been MIA for a while, but for some reason I haven’t found the time to update, so here we go:

Jonathan had his first birthday party.  We had lots of guests, and tons of fun, and here he is with his smash cake…which he did not smash because he’s a gentleman, you guys.

He did play with it, try a little of it, and get frosting all over his hands, though.

He did play with it, try a little of it, and get frosting all over his hands, though.

We finally found a tenant for our house, so that stress is finally gone.  However, they had to fix the latch on the front door, and, of course, the garage door opener went out, so now we have to replace that.  Let’s just say that as much as I love Hawai’i, I’ll be glad to get back to our house because it’s just easier to only have to deal with this stuff for ourselves.

Paul did this:

Super cute picture, right?

Super cute picture, right?

But I liked this picture better:

I think it's because his father is trying to push him into hockey, but what do I know.

I think it’s because his father is trying to push him into hockey, but what do I know.

And this happened:

Yup...that pretty much sums him up in one picture.

Yup…that pretty much sums him up in one picture.

We are currently in the middle of another Army-induced absence because Paul’s on TDY to Fort Huachuca, AZ, for the Advanced Leaders Course (ALC), but he’ll be back soon, so at least this absence isn’t that long.

In other news, I haven’t cleaned my house since my husband left, and I’m dreading a 6-hour flight to Washington with just the terrorist and me for Thanksgiving.  We’re also heading down to Crescent City, CA, to visit my grandparents so they can meet this great-grandson for the first time on Thanksgiving Day, and because my parents are extra-crazy, we’re driving overnight, staying on Thanksgiving night, and driving back the next day.  So this is sure to be fun.  Jonathan’s only freaked out in a restaurant twice, once because he was probably a little overwhelmed, and the other because he was extremely tired, but methinks an honest-to-God meltdown might happen on Thanksgiving if we don’t find a good way for him to nap.  In the meantime, I will attempt to be less lazy, and update more often.  Now that I put it in writing, maybe I’ll hold myself to it.

Leave a Reply

