Peer Pressure

You guys.  Peer pressure is a bitch.

I have spent the last 3 years actively avoiding reading the Fifty Shades series.  I was very successful.  Then, one day, I started browsing through the files in one of the many Facebook groups I’m in.  Lo and behold, there were the PDFs of the series, all for free.  I’d like to stress here that I would never pay money to buy these books.  I heard the writing was horrid, but now I’m starting to think that I know some pretty pretentious people.  It really wasn’t that bad.  Sure, Ana is one-dimensional, and her inner monologue seems to use the same phrases over and over, but the writing was okay.  Not great.  Ms. E.L. James isn’t going to be winning any Pulitzers for her writing, but the story was compelling, and I literally couldn’t stop reading.  Paul had Staff Duty on Saturday, so I really got to reading it, and when I looked up at the clock at 5 in the morning, I knew I was screwed, so I pulled an all-nighter reading these books.  And I am suffering for it now.  How is it when you’re in college and stay up for 36 hours in a row cramming for finals, you can bounce back immediately, but a 33-year-old mom needs days to bounce back?  Anyway, I’m glad I read them, even if I can only classify them as smut.  Sometimes that’s what you need to read to escape, though!  I totally get now why it was perched at the top of the New York Times Bestseller list for so long.

Anyway, I have some friends to blame for my foray into this little dark corner of popular literature, and they know who they are!  And I’m sorry for not believing you, I should have read these sooner!

Leave a Reply

