The Super Bowl!!

I’ll be the first to admit, I can be a bit of a fairweather fan.  I’ve never been into the NFL as much as college football, and I don’t like football nearly as much as I LOVE baseball.  The only team I really get emotionally involved with are the Seattle Mariners.  However, I was born in Washington, and even though I was an Army brat, when it came down to it, I cheer for the Seattle teams (except the University of Washington, but that’s because I went to Washington State).

Seattle has had a LONG drought.  The last time a major sports team won a championship was in 1979 when the Sonics won the NBA Finals.  Basketball is probably the sport I like the least, and I only watch more than the Elite 8 to the championship if Washington State or Gonzaga are in it.  Even then, I typically just catch the last 2 minutes or so of the game because, to me, that’s the most exciting part of a basketball game.

Now, I understand football.  I know the rules, I get really excited when we’re doing well, and it doesn’t hurt that a Marshawn Lynch run causes the fans to get so excited that they can literally cause an earthquake, as seen here:

So I’m just going to say for the record now that I am ECSTATIC that the Seahawks won the Super Bowl, and I can’t even describe how much I wish I was in the state of Washington last night.  My parents called right after the game to yell, “GO SEAHAWKS!” in my ear, and I just think it’s so amazing how much a football game can bring a state together like that!  We had a bunch of people from Paul’s work over, so lots of beer was imbibed, food was eaten, and a general good time was had by all.

I can’t wait to see what the upcoming Mariners season has in store for us, and I’m excited that pitchers and catchers are reporting in 3 days!

And on that note, here’s me and my handsome little guy, representing the Seahawks in Hawai’i!

Go Hawks!

Go Hawks!

Leave a Reply

