Parenting a Terorrist and a Newborn

Those of you who know me know that I like to tag all of Jonathan’s pictures with #toddlerterrorism.  Because, well, he’s a freaking terrorist.  Anyway, he’s been changing his game, man.  Just as an example, let me give you a breakdown of my morning.  Annabeth and Jonathan wake up at the exact same time.  So I will be able to expedite her feeding, I get her bottle ready, change her diaper, give her some gas drops, and we head upstairs to get Jonathan.  We thought we’d keep his Christmas pajamas in the rotation because he freaking loves them.  That, my friends, was a mistake.  He loves those pajamas so much that he never wants to take them off once we put them on him.  This morning, he peed out of his diaper, so those pajamas were ruined.  I laid Annabeth on the ground next to where I change Jonathan, and she’s screaming bloody murder because she’s hungry, dammit, and now Jonathan is pissed off because I took his pee-soaked pajamas off of him.  So within 15 minutes of waking, I’ve got two kids crying in cacophonous harmony, and I already want to shoot myself.  (I didn’t shoot myself, I’m still here.)  Once I got Jonathan his breakfast, and stuck a bottle in Annabeth’s mouth, though, I had blissful silence.  Just not the best way to wake up, if you catch my drift.

Jonathan has been truly amazing with Annabeth.  He has moments of jealousy, but I try to make sure that he gets one-on-one attention from me a lot when she’s napping.  Speaking of sleeping – and I know that every time I mention this, I’ve added 2 wake-ups to every night of Annabeth’s upcoming 4-month sleep regression – Annabeth is SUCH a great sleeper.  Maybe it’s because I have her in the Pack and Play still, but she sleeps so good, and has already started sleeping through the night.  She usually sleeps for a 6-7 hour stretch, wakes up and eats, and goes back to sleep for another 3-4 hours, so sleep is getting better, but I’m getting really fucking tired of my couch.  I need to transition her to her crib, but I also need Jonathan to not kick his wall and jump around everywhere every single time we put him to bed because that will just wake her up.  So we’re working on that.  I’ve been sleeping on the couch for almost 3 months now, and I just really miss my bed.  Back to Jonathan, though, he’ll come downstairs, and say, “Hi, Sissy!” when he sees her, and it just makes me so happy that he took a shine to her so fast.  He also gives her kisses and likes to hold her hand or feet while I’m feeding her, and it’s the cutest thing in the world.

Jonathan’s language explosion continues.  He’s finally starting to put sentences together, and repeats things that surprises us because we don’t remember where he heard it, but it’s probably from some cartoon on Disney, Jr.  Mickey Mouse still reigns supreme as his favorite cartoon character, but Jake from Jake and the Neverland Pirates is now a close second, and he loves Doc McStuffins, too.  His Duplo collection is growing exponentially, and he loves building all kinds of things, which I think is wonderful.  However, it’s not so wonderful when I’m not paying attention and step square on a Lego block.  Touche, Dad, revenge is yours.

Annabeth is growing so fast!  She started smiling about 3 weeks ago, and every day we get more smiles out of her.  I tried to tickle her yesterday and got some surprised grunts, so she’s starting to get ticklish, too.  At her 2 month appointment, she was 22.25 inches and 11 lbs., 10 oz.  I thought for sure she was going to be a full 12 lbs. because she started sleeping through the night about a week before her appointment.  Right after she was born, we were concerned she might have a milk protein allergy.  She got mostly breast milk for her first 7 weeks (way more than Jonathan did, and longer), but I just can’t be a present mom for Jonathan if she’s nursing all the time, so we switched to formula.  Her stools had blood in them for a little while, and were really loose and mucusy, but that thankfully just disappeared one day, and now she’s tolerating her formula just fine.  She was having trouble gaining weight in the beginning, but that has fixed itself, so we are now in the clear.  She looks more like me than Jonathan did, especially in the eyes!

2 Months Old!

We had a decent, but tight, Christmas.  We had a 3 month stretch where we didn’t have tenants in our house again, which always puts us back financially.  Hopefully, this will be the last time we have to worry about it.  Their lease is through the end of next December, and we should know if we’re returning to Washington by then.  If we are, and they don’t want to stay on month for month, I’ll just go back to WA with the kids, and we’ll just have to be apart for 5 or 6 months until Paul can come back, too.  The kids looked adorable for their Santa picture!  And I loved taking Christmas pictures with both of them!

I liked the Santa we had last year better, but we can't always get what we want!

I liked the Santa we had last year better, but we can’t always get what we want!

It's so hard to get him to look at the camera now!

It’s so hard to get him to look at the camera now!

I’m starting to ramble now because I’m tired, but I’ll update again soon.

Leave a Reply

